Announcements / Journal/Pensamientos

Hello Nethernet!

One of the most interesting developments north of Frederick Douglass Circle, in New York City, is the establishment of a new– bilingual!– bookstore in El Barrio, (East Harlem). It hasn’t quite opened yet, but I’ll be following their progress, hopefully along with many other writers. The name is La Casa Azul Bookstore, owned by the amazingly enterprising, and herself a poet, Aurora Anaya-Cerda.

I met with Aurora in December to talk about her project, Latin@ culture, literature, a million other marvelous things, and our possible collaboration. I have announced the development of La Casa Azul in http://escritorial.org, of course, but this was the first time we had the chance to really talk about how the authors of the small press (of which I am co-founder and editor) will be able to support her bookstore and participate.

As a writer, I believe in supporting independent bookstores. Without them, we lose the lifeblood of our communities. There will always be a place to buy book-products, but indie bookstores carry the sense of community development and growth with us into the future– any future. Of course, I love e-books, I’ve published several, and therefore, spend a lot of time enjoying my iPad. And so, we will be having readings and book launchings at La Casa Azul in 2012.

Now, to get back to work.

I’ve been invited to contribute to a new writers’ platform for self-published authors at http://prefacme.com/ and have already contributed a Preface on the publishing of Sobrevivir y otros complejos. Thanks to all the authors, and especially to Malena, for creating the forum.

Look forward to hearing from you!

One thought on “Hello Nethernet!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    I’m leaving this one here because I get so few of them! Good news; I’ve imported my blog from the place in Nethernet where it shared an identity with that of the new bilingual press, Escritorial.org. At Escritorial, I am editor and translator, along with my friend (and co-founder!), the writer Mercedes Salvador. I hope that now, as a separate entity, this blog will develop and continue to evolve as a lifeform in the Nethernet universe. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

